New Year Book Recommendations

“A room without books is like a body with out a soul.” – Cicero

One of the best new year’s resolutions anyone can make is to read more!  I have always loved books.  When I was in junior high my friend Nicole and I always said that if it was the end of the world you could find us at the library trying to read one more book before it all ended.  Also from when I was younger, I used to wish heaven were a place where I could live out the lives of my favorite heroes and heroines from fiction.  So if you are accepting a reading challenge or just want to read more in general in the new year, here are my recommendations.  Each book has a link to its Amazon site.

Female Hero, Adventure/Fantasy:

The Hero and the Crown by Robin Mckinley
The Blue Sword by Robin Mckinley
A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray (A trilogy)

Female Hero, Fiction:

Chocolat by Joann Harris (Apparently there are other book following the same heroine.  I haven’t read them but am making a note for future!)
Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman (Very different from the movie.  I loved the movie but I don’t even associate the two.  The book is incredible.)

Fantasy Fiction:

The Earthsea Quartet by Ursula K. Le Guin
The Other Wind by Ursula K. Le Guin (Read the Earthsea quartet first!  This is the finale of the Earthsea books.. at least, it is Ged’s final book.  We aren’t sure yet if it is the end of Earthsea.)

Young Adult/Children’s Fantasy Fiction:

Howl’s Moving Castle by Dianna Wynne Jones (I love Miyazaki’s adaptation of this book and have watched in numerous times but I have read this book times innumerable!  It makes a wonderful bedtime story if you have children, boys or girls, but it is also great if you are in the mood for something sweet, charming, and whimsical.)
Castle in the Air by Dianna Wynne Jones (If you have seen Castle in the Sky by Miyazaki – this book is nothing like it.  Not even the same story.  This is the sort-of-sequel to Howl’s Moving Castle and so much fun to read.  I can’t wait until my little ragamuffin is old enough to read these books with.)
The Complete Chronicles of Narnia by C.S Lewis  (When I say complete, I mean it!  I know you’ve probably heard or seen the movies like, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, or, Prince Caspian, but you haven’t read Narnia until you’ve read The Horse and His Boy or The Silver Chair.  Don’t woose out, read them all!)

Space Odyssey:

Ender’s Game Series by Orson Scott Card (You’ve heard it before but I’m gonna say it – the book was WAY better than the movie.  The movie was good but the book was complex, dark, and enthralling.  So rare.  The last time I actually couldn’t put a book down I was in sixth grade reading the complete Chronicles of Narnia for the first time.

Nonfiction:

The Bookseller of Kabul by Asne Seierstad
Multicultural Manners by Norine Dresser (I read this book for an ESL class in college but it was fun and very informative.  A good starting point if you are planning on visiting another country.)

Christian Nonfiction:

Through Her Eyes by Marti Smith
Revolution in World Mission by K.P Yohannan (Although, I will tell you to read this with a grain of salt.  K.P Yohannan is very passionate about his thesis and his insights are changing world mission for the better but at times the book reads a little extremist.)
Road to Reality by K.P Yohannan (Same note as above.)

My book list:  These are books I got for Christmas and plan to work on in the new year.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman ( I am currently reading this book and it has a very Malice in Wonderland feel to it.  I can’t wait to finish this post and snuggle up with it in bed!)
Coraline by Neil Gaiman
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
Maze Runner by James Dashner

Also I am rereading the Harry Potter series once I’ve exhausted my new books.  Harry Potter, books and movies, is my guilty pleasure – don’t judge!!

Have a very readerly new year!

Leave a Reply

